AbleDesign - Support Forum

AbleDesign Forum Index AbleDesign

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
AbleDesign Forum Index
Backup DB Discussion
Does Backup DB work on Windows servers?
Post new topic   Reply to topic

Post new topic   Reply to topic    AbleDesign Forum Index -> Backup DB Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lee
Lurker
Lurker


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:43 pm    Post subject: Does Backup DB work on Windows servers? Reply with quote

Hi

I am trying to get BackupDB working. I have version 1.11 installed on a Windows 2003 server. It's has PHP v4 and Perl installed. I have hopefully updated the config files correctly with the DB hostname, ID, password and path to the backups directory etc. but when I click on List Databases, nothing happens.

I am a novice when it comes to things like this and the config files have Unix paths in them. Does this program work on Windows?

Many thanks

Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dan
Admin / Developer
Admin / Developer


Joined: 19 Feb 2001
Posts: 2057

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it should work on your server. Getting it to interface with the command line for the backup/restore processes can be tricky with some setups, but your issue is with the PHP/MySQL interface itself.

Are you getting just a blank screen or an error message of some sort? Check your error logs to see if anything is being reported there.

I'll be out for a few hours, but I'll check back in this evening for an update.

Cheers,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Lee
Lurker
Lurker


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dan

Thanks for the fast response!

Absolutely nothing is happening. I would have at least expected an error or something but the main page remains with nothing happening.

You asked me to look at my logs but not sure which logs you are referring to. The only log I have access to is the IIS log which shows the following:

86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) - 200 0 109 28311 628
2006-04-12 19:33:12 84.18.207.33 GET /db/index.php - 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) - 200 0 0 1120 325
2006-04-12 19:33:13 84.18.207.33 GET /db/top.php - 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/index.php 200 0 0 963 506
2006-04-12 19:33:13 84.18.207.33 GET /db/main.php - 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/index.php 200 0 0 1606 507
2006-04-12 19:33:13 84.18.207.33 GET /db/main.php go=list_dbs 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/top.php 200 0 0 1606 517
2006-04-12 19:33:15 84.18.207.33 GET /db/main.php go=restore 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/top.php 200 0 0 1606 516
2006-04-12 19:33:17 84.18.207.33 GET /db/main.php - 80 - 86.132.203.221 Mozilla/4.0+(compatible;+MSIE+6.0;+Windows+NT+5.1;+SV1;+InfoPath.1) http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/top.php 200 0 0 1606 505
2006-04-12 19:46:29 84.18.207.33 GET /db/main.php go=list_dbs 80 - 86.132.203.221

I don't think this tells us anything other than the pages that are being called. There are no BackupDB log files so I assume you may be referring to a PHP log which I won't have access to directly.

Maybe you could check my files. I have created a db directory under the root:

---------------------------------------------------
lib.php:
// set the path to the backup directory; no trailing slash
$bu_dir = "/db/backups";

// TRUE or FALSE. if FALSE, then the PHP backup/restore files are
// used instead of the Perl (CGI) ones.
$use_cgi = TRUE;

// if $use_cgi is set to FALSE, ignore the $cgi_url variable and move to the next section.
// set the URL to mysql_backup.cgi and mysql_restore.cgi; no trailing slash.
$cgi_url = "http://www.thecandlenut.co.uk/db/cgi-bin";

// if $use_cgi is set to FALSE, then set the 3 variables below for your MySQL info.
$mysqldump = "/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqldump";
$mysql = "/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql";
$gzip = "/usr/bin/gzip";

$dbConnect = "/db/includes/dbConnect.inc"; // connect to MySQL
include($dbConnect);
---------------------------------------------

DBConnect.inc
<?php

$mysql_hostname = "mysql.active-ns.com";
$mysql_username = "removed for security reasons";
$mysql_password = "removed for security reasons";

$dbcnx = @mysql_connect($mysql_hostname, $mysql_username, $mysql_password); // connect to MySQL and silence default error messages (@...)
if (!$dbcnx) {
echo( "<P>Unable to connect to the database server at this time.</P>" );
exit();
}

?>
-----------------------------------------------

BackupDB_Config.pm
package BackupDB_Config;
use strict;
use vars qw(%c);

# set the following array of configuration variables; descriptions follow this section:
%c = (
hostname => 'mysql.active-ns.com',
username => 'removed for security reasons',
password => 'removed for security reasons'
bu_dir => '/db/backups',
mysqldump => '/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysqldump',
mysql => '/usr/local/mysql/bin/mysql',
gzip => '/usr/bin/gzip',
);

Don't panic over this as it's not urgent!

Thanks for your help.

Lee[/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dan
Admin / Developer
Admin / Developer


Joined: 19 Feb 2001
Posts: 2057

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, those access logs don't help much. Can you ask your host if they'll provide access to the server error logs? It's a good thing to have available for regular troubleshooting.

Quote:
$dbConnect = "/db/includes/dbConnect.inc";

Being on a Windows server, I'm thinking your path settings are incorrect. It would typically be something like "d:\usr\www\db\..." That would definitely cause the presumed error which you aren't seeing.

Cheers,
Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    AbleDesign Forum Index -> Backup DB Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group


Home | Services | Pricing | Portfolio | About Us | Contact
Support | Programs | Purchase | Tutorials | Site Map

© 1999-2018 AbleDesign.com - Web Design that Can!